Bayelsa Senatorial Bye-election: PDP Wins Big As Dickson, Cleopas Emerge Senators-Elect

Seriake Dickson
Seriake Dickson

The bye-election held in Bayelsa State on Saturday has declared former Bayelsa State Governor, Seriake Dickson the Senator-elect for Bayelsa-West Senatorial district.

Declaring the result for the election, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) disclosed that the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) polled a total of 115, 257 votes in Ekeremor LGA and 68,156 in Sagbama, while the APC scored 17,541 votes and 7,303 votes, respectively.

Similarly, the INEC returning officer for Bayelsa Central, Dr Emmanuel Akpan, declared the candidate of the PDP, Moses Cleopas, winner for the bye-election in the district.

The PDP polled 20,922 votes in Kolokuma/Opokuma LGA; 54,390 in Yenagoa LGA and 44, 707 votes in Southern Ijaw LGA, while the APC scored 4,980 votes; 6,155; and 7,812 votes, respectively.

With the results, the PDP has successfully retained the Bayelsa Central and West senatorial districts which had been vacant after Governor Douye Diri and his deputy, Lawrence Ewhrudjakpo respectively, vacated them to take over political leadership at the state level.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here