“I Still Remain APC Secretary”- James Akpanudoedehe Reacts As Party Sacks Him

10 out of the 12-member Caretaker/Extraordinary Convention Planning Committee (CECPC) passing a vote of no confidence on the committee’s Secretary, Senator John James Akpanudoedehe. This has further deepened
the leadership crisis rocking the ruling All Progressives Congress. (APC).

The Secretary, in a statement, however, announced cancellation of the sub-committees formed by the Abubakar Sani Bello-led committee last week.

Akpanudoedehe released a new set of committees, stating the newly approved sub-committees supersedes any other list in circulation.

But a statement by the chairman, Gov Mai Mala Buni, faulted the purported suspension of some activities initiated and executed by the CECPC under the acting Chairman Governor Abubakar Sani-Bello.

Buni, in the statement dated March 17, 2022 said activities carried out in his absence by Sani Bello-led CECPC remain valid and binding.

The statement reads: “This is to bring to the notice of all stakeholders and members of the party that the purported suspension of some activities initiated and executed by the Caretaker Extraordinary Convention Planning Committee under the acting Chairman and Niger State Governor, H.E. Muhammed Sani Bello, IS NOT TRUE.

“Therefore, all activities that were done in my absence remain valid and binding. All-party stakeholders and members are hereby advised to disregard the previous statement discarding the activities of the Committee under the leadership of the Acting Chairman.

“It could be recalled that I had duly transmitted power to His Excellency, the Niger State Governor, H.E. Abubakar Sani Bello to enable me to undergo medical attention.

“Therefore, all actions and measures taken by the Committee under his leadership as Acting Chairman, remain effective.

“The party calls for support and understanding to move the party forward to a successful Convention slated for March 26th, 2022.”

The vote of no confidence was passed through a notice dated March 8, 2022 by a majority of the APC caretaker committee members.

The notice was signed by Governor Abubakar Sani Bello; Senator Ken Nnamani; Senator Yusuf Abubakar Yusuf; Prof Tahir Mammah; Senator Abba Alli; H.E David Lyon; Hon Akinremi Olàide; Mrs Stella Okotete, Barr Ismaeel Ahmad and Dr James Lalu.

They cited Article 17 subsection 5 of the APC Constitution for the sack, arguing it empowers them to pass a vote of no confidence on any member found wanting.

The Secretary has been absent in most meetings of the CECPC for few weeks until Tuesday, fuelling speculation it may have been due to the vote of no confidence.

Reacting to the suspension of sub committees, spokesperson for the Sani Bello-led CECPC, Barr. Ismaeel Ahmed, said the list remains the final and authentic list.

Ahmed reiterated that the CECPC never approved the list released by Akpanudkedehe, insisting the committee has no record of such a list.

According to him: “The approved final list was the outcome of extensive consultations with all the stakeholders and follow up at ensuring a decent list that is representative and inclusive is put together and the same has since been issued.

“The laughable action of sacked Senator Akpanudoedehe is therefore considered an affront on the committee which was duly constituted in line with provisions of the party’s constitution and NEC of the party.”

But Akpanudoedehe insisted he remains the secretary.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *